One Year! (What) {August 18, 2014}

Dear Yearlings and……..Kids,

 
So this week I hit my official year mark! Now I’m at the point where I say I’ve been out “a little over a year” for the next six months, because heaven knows members here will give me MORE food if I say I’ve been out any longer than that. And I don’t need extra food. They give me enough of that. But this last week I experienced something new: I was kicked out of a house for the first time. I’ll tell y’all about that more later.
 
I think today I’ll start with my spiritual thought since I did hit my year mark. I’m reminded of a talk from Elder Dieter F. Utchdorf from a couple of years ago. The talk is called “Always in the Middle”. In it he talks about how we are always in the middle. Okay, a little math now. So if you have a line and a point on it, either side of the point extends to infinity. That point is our life. We were are will be for eternity. We are merely in the middle of our existent.

Being always in the middle means that the game is never over, hope is never lost, defeat is never final. For no matter where we are or what our circumstances, an eternity of beginnings and an eternity of endings stretch out before us.

 
We are always in the middle.
I love the hope that comes from being in the middle. I’m in the middle of my mission. I don’t have to worry about being new or going home because I’m somewhere between that, but when I am home I’ll still be in the middle of eternity. There’s still time to learn, but also still time to make up for the mistakes I have made or will make. Cool huh?
 
Photos:
Riding bikes…
 untitled-2212
Cool hummer with cool cloud…
 untitled-2215
Falling asleep on Sierta’s shoulders…
 untitled-2225
Shameless selfie…
 untitled-2243
Companion dancing…
 untitled-2256
annndd me being short (I’m not that short)…

untitled-2271

​yeah.

Okay so about being kicked out of the house. We learned a lot from that experience. We learned..
1. Prepare your members on their role in a lesson.
2. Don’t let the lesson get out of your control.
3. Don’t let Bible bashings happen….
It was bible bashing-fest. I learned I am VERY grateful I am not serving in the bible belt because I hate contention, and that lesson was very heated. It made me very uncomfortable. But that okay. The next day we were able to invite a sister we’ve been trying to work with to be baptized…and she said yes! She would like for her family to be sealed together for eternity.
Then yesterday I went down to Pocatello with the visitor center sister for another musical fireside. It was WEIRD being down there again. I felt slightly sick. Pokey is like my home. It was weird. It was even weirder walking up to the door, when I got home, alone. I felt like I did when I’d come home back in Arizona when the rest of the family was asleep. I don’t even know. Preforming a solo is always so interesting. I think I mentally black out for the time I’m playing. I don’t really know what’s happening. All I know is that I’m playing music and when I mess up. It’s a strange feeling.
I love y’all! Have a great week. You’re in the middle. blahblahblah. Bye!
-Sister Gale
Leave a Reply

