From Heaven to Hail {June 23, 2014}

Dear Tevye and Golde,

 
I was trying to decide if I should head this newsletter based off of Fiddler on the Roof or mention something of the weather. I asked Sister King and she giggled at the pun, so I went with the weather.
 
But really. This week was strange (if my life was animated it would show me saying strange but the words would be all wiggly….like this…)

​Really. I was wearing a coat and scarf. In June. When I got called to Idaho I didn’t know that is was in the Southern Hemisphere where it’s winter in June (that was a joke). I didn’t really take a picture with me in my coat because it was raining (and hailing) cats and dogs. But when the weather did clear up I did take a picture of one of the Alien dandelions that they have up here.

untitled-1709
{Normal pic}
untitled-1709-2
{Colored painting version}
untitled-1709-3
{and last a BW painting version}
I can’t handle it. Well. Okay. Literally I can. But metaphorically! These things are HUGE. It’s freaky! I don’t know what they are or why they are here. All I know is that I don’t think that they work any better than the Earthly sized dandelions for wishing. I’ll just stick to praying I guess. 
 
But hail man. That stuff does not feel good on bear legs. 
 
After being hailed on and not knowing where to go we went over to one of the many old folks homes in our area to help out. We went in they told us to go down the hall and take a right and at the end of that hall was a locked door was had to buzz to get open. We were put in the “Memory Care” area. Oh man that was a hoot and a half. An old man flirted with me. That was just uncomfortable. Funny. But uncomfortable. 
 
Then on Friday night we saw Fiddler on the Roof. As the Good Book says IT WAS GOOD. I can’t get out the Mazel tov song out of my head. Probably because the only part I know “blessing on your house MAZEL TOV MAZEL TOV” Ahhhhh! And my little friend Conner that I mentioned last week got really scared when Tevye was yelling at Hodel and he thought he was actually mad so he wanted to call his sisters (who were backstage) to get out of there away from the scary man. I love that family. 
 
But if you haven’t seen Fiddler on the Roof, do it. (Spoiler: The Fiddler is just an allegory). 
 
OH I ALMOST FORGOT!!! 
We TOTALLY crashed Elder Walkenhorst’s (the Greenie from the District 1) wedding brunch on Saturday (it was accident). Now we didn’t get to see him (okay. Once we found out it was his luncheon thing we kind of bolted out of there because that would just be weird), but WE WERE THERE! And the family offered us food. Sadly we already ate. BUT. HOW COOL IS THAT?!?! He’s missionary famous. We’re cool. I know.
 
Well. We’re borrowing some bikes. That’s fun. I just want to get on to the Spiritual thought though. 
 
It’s another video, because the Church puts out AMAZING videos.
 
I really like this video. It’s pretty new. But I can’t help but think that a trip like that would be fun. Just going around causing chaos…and by chaos I mean smiles. There are FAR too many Sunday Christians that are only Christians on Sunday, but is that really being a Christian? A Christian is a follower of Christ. How are YOU following Christ today? Who have you helped? I’m going to share another video (because I can) of a song that I think goes well with this idea…
 
 
(If you just want to skip to the song part go to 2:41 in the video, otherwise you can just listen to Alex Boye talk about the video).
 
But if you haven’t done anything today, “wake up! And do something more!”
 
I hope y’all have a great week! I love  you! 
 
Love,
Sister Gale
untitled-1712

​(look at those cute baby ducks!!)

 
p.s. 
The mission address for the Idaho Pocatello Mission is changing on July first, so if you want to send me a letter please mail it to…
 
Sister Rebecca Gale
Idaho Pocatello Mission Office
135 South 7th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho  83201
Leave a Reply

