Happy Winds-day! (Just kidding. It’s Monday) {April 28,2014}

Dear Moops and Moors (it’s a Seinfeld thing),

 
So this week the weather was gloomy. I loved it. Does that sound kind of goth? Oh well. I just like my rain and cloudy skies. Call me an Arizona girl, why don’t chya?!
Here’s a few pictures to prove my point…
untitled-1453
Here’s my companion walking dramatically in the rain. Look at her go. You can’t tell, but it was So WINDYYYY! We were about to fly away like Mary Poppins. It was awesome.
untitled-1466
Here is me under my umbrella-ella-ella. Ehhhh. Not much to say about it. I have a coat on in April. NBD (that stands for “no big deal”…my trainer, Sister Lemons, will say it’s still not a thing. It’s a thing. Trust me. I’m a missionary).
untitled-1465
Annnd….yeah.
My companion enjoying a nice…protein snack (ew). There were SO many worms. You don’t even know. We made a HILARIOUS video about the terrifying worm-snakes. I’ll have to send it home someday. It’s like the Crocodile Hunter (may he rest in peace), but with worm-snakes. There’s even a theme song. I know. You’re probably imagining it now. It’s even better than you think it is. Trust me. I’m a missionary.
 
This week was pretty dramatic, as you can probably tell from the photos. We had all kinds of random illness up in our little room in the basement and people dropping us like hot potatoes (get it? Idaho? Potatoes? I’m a hoot). But that’s okay!! Yesterday miracles happened. Mirraclessss happpennn, once in a whillleeee…..(feel free to continue singing that song for me). At church, members were coming at us left and right telling us of people they have ready for us to teach. Yeah!!!! Teaching is great. Sometimes I wonder if I should be a seminary teacher, then I think….we’ll see. Because I literally have no idea what I’m going to do with my career. But I still have 45 years to figure that out (I’m not going to explain that one. Explaining math in a letter is too much work). 
 
But look how much walking we did! My feet got all kinds of bruised!!!
(I’m just kidding. My shoes were just wet and stained my feet. Looks pretty legit though, doesn’t it?)
 untitled-1461
I did see this pretty flower in between the cracks of the sidewalk…
untitled-1452
Now why did I take a picture of a flower you might ask. Well. I’m a nerd. And a missionary. So this little flower reminded me of a very important scripture in the Book of Mormon. You probably already know where I’m going with this, but I’ll share it anyways.
This comes from the Book of Alma in the Book of Mormon, Chapter 32 verse 28 which reads….
 
Now, we will compare the word unto a seed. Now, if ye give place, that a seed may be planted in your heart, behold, if it be a true seed, or a good seed, if ye do not cast it out by your unbelief, that ye will resist the Spirit of the Lord, behold, it will begin to swell within your breasts; and when you feel these swelling motions, ye will begin to say within yourselves—It must needs be that this is a good seed, or that the word is good, for it beginneth to enlarge my soul; yea, it beginneth to enlighten my understanding, yea, it beginneth to be delicious to me.
 
This verse is one of my companion’s favorite to share for a quick spiritual thought. She pointed out to me a little fun acronym that is found within the verse that is really neat…lets look back at the verse, shall we? 
 
…if ye do not cast it out….it will begin to
Swell within your breasts…and…ye will beigin to say within yourselves-it must needs be that this is a good seed…, for it beginneth to..
Enlarge my soul; yea, it beginneth to
Enlighten my understanding; yea, it beginneth to be
Delicious to me.
 
Nifty, right? This little flower reminded me to carry on because the seed IS good. The Church is true, and I need to do my part to share it with my brothers and sisters in Idaho. Being discouraged because a few people are not yet ready to receive the word should not bring me down because it doesn’t take away from the joy that I can receive from the gospel of Jesus Christ. The world is awesome like that. Everything we see reminds of our divine nature, because it was created by Him. Never back down from what you believe just because times get hard. It was hard for Him, why should it be easy for us? Life isn’t meant to be easy. “There is no growth in the comfort zone,” as one Elder said. And it’s true. How do you become good at anything? You have to stretch yourself and be tested. Music, sports, academics. All require you to grow by being uncomfortable. But then you get it and you get to learn more! Life is awesome like that. I’m so thankful to have the gospel in my life so I know who I can turn to when things get stormy. I’ll share one more verse with you from the Book of Mormon. This one comes from the Book of Helaman chapter five verse twelve which says…
 
And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.
 
This week the “might winds” were beating on us, but we made it because we knew we had to carry on! There was work to do, so we did it! I hope y’all have a great week, but if not, remember that He will always be there for you and is ready to catch you when you need Him. I love you!!
 
Love,
Sister R. Gale
untitled-1448
 
Oh.
Here’s the shirt deigned by yours truly for the Ammon Zone…
untitled-
Pretty much the coolest shirt ever . The symbol that looks like the word “up” is the symbol we use to shorthand baptism. It’s an arrow going under the water. 

 

Leave a Reply

