Mormon Super Bowl #LDSconf {April 7, 2014}

My dearest loves (and the other people that read this), 

How’s it going? Good? Gooood.

 

This week was “Mormon Super Bowl” (aka General conference). At home we have the age old tradition of eating orange rolls while watching our Prophet speak to us. I have now had two General Conferences without this tradition, for it was the second General Conference I’ve watched out in the mission field. Have I really been out that long? Weird. I will be hitting my eight month mark a week from today. EIGHT MONTHS. What the what. How did that happen? I don’t know.

 

Anywho…

 

I loved General Conference as I always do. You know you’re a missionary when…General Conference seems short compared to how much church you usually get. I loveddd M. Russell Ballard’s talk. He knows missionary work, and he applied it to real life! Crazy! Who would have thought you could relate things in the gospel and church to real life?!?! haha…

 

I think there was somethings I wanted to talk about, but I can’t for the life of me think of what they were. oops. I’m terrible, I know. It’s okay. It doesn’t bother me one bit. My family on the other hand? They’re probably annoyed with my lack of writing. But really, I’m drawing a blank.

 

OHHHHH WAIT I REMEMBER SOMETHING AWESOME!!!!

 

So it was snowing like it does here in the winter….I mean spring, and my companion and I didn’t have an appointment again so we turned it over to the Lord. We asked Him to put someone in our path that we could talk to. We then got the silly idea to follow the snowflakes. And we did! We walked the way the snowflakes guided us and knocked on a door. The first door? Nothing. Go figure. but it was a twin home so we knocked on the next door. We knocked and knocked and knocked and knocked. For some reason we did more than the usual “three knocks for salvation.” After a time, the door opened a crack and a lady asked “who is it?” and we replied, “the sister missionaries!” She let us right in and we started to talk. Turns out this sister has a granddaughter leaving soon for a mission and she was deciding whether or not if she’ll go through the temple with her. She was so surprised that no one sent us over from the ward, but that we were just following inspiration. I think we made an impact on her. Follow the snowflakes! Coolest thing ever.

 

I love you all and hope you have a great week. If you ever want to write me, please do. I’d love to talk to answer questions for you. I’ll leave you again with another quote from President Eyring,

“All of us will be tested. And all of us need true friends to love us, to listen to us, to show us the way, and to testify of truth to us.”

 

As cliche as it sounds, be wise with the friends you choose! They can bring you up or tear you down, so choose to build! I have some friends that have helped me so much, many of them are new friends that I’ve made out here in Idaho. I love my friends and I hope they know that. Take care y’all!

 

Love,

Sister Gale

 

{still waiting on pictures….shessh! even changed out her LCD screen by hand & got it sent back to her :/ Guess she hasn’t gotten the camera yet though.}

http://www.ldsliving.com/story/75467-top-conference-memes

Leave a Reply

